Stutter?

Miaomiao wakes up at nearly eight o’clock this morning. “I want to pee.” She says to me immediately after she opens her eyes. So i hold her to the toilet and let her pee. I take her back to our bedroom and plan to help her wear her panties and socks after that. But she lies on the bed lazily and refuses to put on her panties and socks to get up.

“Honey, you need to get up and have your breakfast now.” I speak to her. “I don’t want to have breakfast.” She replies. “You won’t grow up and grow tall if you don’t eat your breakfast then. ” I try to persuade her. “I hate eating breakfast.” She still lies on the bed. “Do you remember the younger sister you played with the day before yesterday? If you don’t eat your breakfast, she would grow taller than you soon.” I continue talk to her. “I…i…i’m taller than her, i…i’m big sister.” She becomes a bit stutter in her voice. I put on the panties and socks for her but she still doesn’t want to go to the living room to have breakfast.

“Honey, i read a book for you and then you go out to have breakfast, ok?””ok” She replies swiftly. So i get a book from our bookcase and go to sit beside her. “Wh…what’s this?” she asks me when she sees the book in my hands. “The book of songs” i answer her and open the book to read one of the songs for her. She listens carefully. “Wh…wh…what’s the meaning of this song?” She asks me after i read one song. I give her the explanation in the book. “Wh…why…why do you know the words in the book?” She tries to ask me. “Because mom is an adult and has learned the words before.” I answer. “Wi…wi…will i know the words too when i’m four years old?” She continues to ask me. “No, you need to be ten, then you can read these words. Because you will start to learn these words when you enter in the primary school, not the kindergarten.” I try to give her a clear answer. “So, i…i…i can also read this song when i am ten years old.” She still says with a bit stutter.

Actually she often speaks a bit stuttering these days, especially when she is nervous or feeling anxious. For example, she followed her brother Danny said happy birthday to grandma yesterday when she saw my mother, but when we ask her to speak again, she looked at my mother and said “Gran…gran…grand…i can’t say it.” She was nervous when everyone watched her.

But i don’t worry about her speaking at all. Because she also used to speak with stutter at a time before, but she speaks smoothly without stuttering soon. I also have referred to the information about baby stuttering. And they say stuttering was because the development of babies’ language and idea were not very synchronized. So she couldn’t express the ideas in her mind swiftly at this period. In this situation, her stutter will disappear soon only if we don’t criticize or urge her when she is stuttering in speaking.

Published by

Tina Peng

Tina Peng, Miaomiao's mother, born in 1985, and give birth to Miaomiao in summer of 2013, love Miaomiao very much, and willing to record her tiny things in this blog.

Leave a Reply

