Grandma’s Birthday

It’s my mother’s birthday today. As usual, my parents invite many relatives to celebrate my mother’s birthday together in a restaurant for a whole day.
As the restaurant is a bit far away this time, my younger sister, her son Danny, and her husband drive to pick us there. We arrive at the restaurant at about eleven o’clock in the forenoon. My mother and many relatives are already there. Danny says happy birthday to grandma when he sees my mother. Miaomiao also says the same to my mother. As her voice is too small, we all ask her to say again. But she just smiles and doesn’t say a word. Then we ask Danny to say again. “Happy birthday grandma” Danny says loudly again. “Happy birthday grandma” Miaomiao repeats her brother’s word rapidly but in a low voice. I think she is shy and feels a bit uncomfortable to see so many unfamiliar relatives. She just plays with Danny or eats some food as well as birthday cake before lunch. She also goes to her grandma (her dad’s mother) sometimes. But as she is not very familiar with my mother, she doesn’t call her and also refuses to be held by her during this period, which embarrasses us a bit. Maybe because she hasn’t seen my parents and brother for a long time, she also refuses to be held by my younger brother, though she played with him well before. For some reason, my father and his driver Mr Zhao arrive at nearly one o’clock in the afternoon. So we also have our lunch a bit late.

Miaomiao goes to Danny’s home with me in the afternoon. She plays with Danny and his toys for a while and goes to sleep with Danny. My younger brother drive us back to the restaurant again and we enjoy our dinner there. Miaomiao calls my parents before we go home. I think she may feel a bit familiar and comfortable after a day here, so she doesn’t resist calling them then.

Because i don’t go back to my parents’ home often, Miaomiao is not very familiar with them. She is more familiar with her dad Sam’s parents because we live together at present. That’s why she doesn’t like to call my parents and my brother today.

Company is really very important especially to little kids. They only like people who spends more time with them. They’re smart and know who loves them more. So if you want to be intimate with your kids, just spend more time with them. Playing, reading, drawing, and washing, everything is ok.

Published by

Tina Peng

Tina Peng, Miaomiao's mother, born in 1985, and give birth to Miaomiao in summer of 2013, love Miaomiao very much, and willing to record her tiny things in this blog.

Leave a Reply

