Cry For Snacks

image

Miaomiao wakes up at half past five this morning. I take her to the toilet and then go back to our bed to continue to sleep. “I want to get up, i want to get up, don’t sleep mommy” Miaomiao says to me beside. I feel so sleepy that i just continue to sleep after changing a posture. After a while i wake up and find Miaomiao has fallen asleep again beside me. So i continue to sleep with her. When we wake up again, it’s already a quarter past ten.

As it’s a rainy day today, so we have our breakfast at home. Miaomiao eats an egg, a small piece of steamed bread, and a bowl of oatmeal with eight red dates. It’s already half past eleven after breakfast. So i decide to prepare our lunch later, at about half past two o’clock in the afternoon. During this period, Miaomiao runs and plays in her toy house for a while, eats a peach, and does some housework with me. At twenty past two o’clock, she eats a walnut with my help. I think maybe she is hungry. I give her a small jujube cake (a kind of snacks) but she doesn’t want to eat it. So i eat the jujube cake and go to prepare our lunch in the kitchen. Our lunch is the rest dinner of last night – the pumpkin steamed pork with rice flour, steamed corn and rice. I steam our lunch together in the steamer. After the lunch is ready, i fetch them out of the steamer and put them on our end table. “I want to eat jujube cake.” Miaomiao says to me in a sudden. I feel a bit angry for her wanting to eat snacks when the lunch is ready. “Eat your lunch first and then you can eat a jujube cake.” I tell her. “No, i want to eat jujube cake right now” she cries out. “So just one, you fetch it and then you should have your lunch.” I make a concession. “No, you fetch it and feed it to me.” She continues to cry. “No, you can have one if you fetch by yourself. As i don’t agree with you to eat one before lunch, so i won’t fetch it for you.” i insist. “Mommy fetch one for me.” She cries louder. “Get by yourself or have lunch first.” i still insist on my point. “Mommy get one. ” She continues to cry. But this time i don’t want to listen to her. As i don’t think it’s good for her to let her does whatever she wants. So she cries for a while, and at last agrees to have lunch first. She sits on my legs and i feed her eat up her lunch. Then i give her a jujube cake as she desires.
Sometimes, some kind of principles is needed in order to help our kids forming good habits. But the ways are multiple and flexible. I hope i can find the better way in the future.

Published by

Tina Peng

Tina Peng, Miaomiao's mother, born in 1985, and give birth to Miaomiao in summer of 2013, love Miaomiao very much, and willing to record her tiny things in this blog.

Leave a Reply

